HfG at night, 1956
HfG at night, 1956
Photographer: Wolfgang Siol, © HfG Archive / Museum Ulm, inventory number: HfG-Archiv 56/0258

The social responsibility of designers: Why the HfG Ulm was founded


The HfG was not founded to remedy an aesthetic deficit. Its founders Otl Aicher, Inge Scholl and Max Bill were not primarily interested in designing beautiful posters and lamps. Rather, they wanted to shape society. To be more precise: They wanted to help ensure that a peaceful, democratic and free society could emerge in Germany after the end of the Second World War.

German society was in ruins in 1945. The houses were destroyed, the streets and squares of the cities were full of rubble and ash. The country was occupied and divided by the four leading victorious powers. The destruction was almost total. It extended not only to the material environment. The families and friends mourned their dead and missing people.

In addition, the intellectual foundations of society were fundamentally damaged. The world had changed so fundamentally as a result of the Nazi regime that, from Aicher's point of view, the Germans were not allowed to seamlessly continue the period up to 1933. He wanted to use the catastrophe as an opportunity and critically question all the traditions and certainties that had up until then taken German society for granted. All social values appeared questionable because they did not give people the strength to resist the Nazis. This chance for a completely new beginning was called “zero hour”.

Source: www.renespitz.de, “Ulm school of design: Notes on the relationship between politics and design, 1953–1968”, May 22, 2017


gathering in the small lecture hall
HfG Ulm
© Stiftung Hochschule für Gestaltung HfG Ulm / photo: Martin Rudau

Nachtaufnahme des HfG-Gebäudes, 1956
Nachtaufnahme des HfG-Gebäudes, 1956
Fotograf: Wolfgang Siol, © HfG-Archiv / Museum Ulm, Signatur: HfG-Archiv 56/0258

Die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung der Gestalter: Warum die HfG Ulm gegründet wurde


Die HfG wurde nicht gegründet, um ein ästhetisches Defizit zu beheben. Ihren Gründern Otl Aicher, Inge Scholl und Max Bill ging es nicht in erster Linie darum, schöne Plakate und Lampen zu gestalten. Sie wollten vielmehr die Gesellschaft gestalten. Genauer gesagt: Sie wollten dazu beitragen, dass nach dem Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs in Deutschland eine friedliche, demokratische und freie Gesellschaft entstehen konnte.

Die deutsche Gesellschaft lag 1945 in Trümmern. Die Häuser waren zerstört, die Straßen und Plätze der Städte voller Schutt und Asche. Das Land war von den vier führenden Siegermächten besetzt und aufgeteilt. Die Zerstörung war beinahe total. Sie erstreckte sich nicht nur auf die materielle Umwelt. Die Familien und Freunde beklagten ihre Toten und Vermissten.

Darüber hinaus waren auch die geistigen Grundlagen der Gesellschaft fundamental beschädigt. Die Welt hatte sich durch das Nazi-Regime so grundlegend geändert, dass die Deutschen aus Aichers Sicht nicht nahtlos an die Zeit bis 1933 anknüpfen durften. Er wollte die Katastrophe als Chance nutzen und sämtliche Traditionen und Gewissheiten, welche die deutsche Gesellschaft bis dahin wie selbstverständlich getragen hatten, kritisch hinterfragen. Alle gesellschaftlichen Werte erschienen fragwürdig, weil sie den Menschen nicht die Kraft gegeben hatten, den Nazis zu widerstehen. Diese Chance für einen vollständigen Neuanfang nannte man «Stunde Null».

Quelle: www.renespitz.de, »Hochschule für Gestaltung (HfG) Ulm: Anmerkungen zum Verhältnis von Politik und Design, 1953–1968«, 22.05.2017


Versammlung im kleinen Hörsaal
HfG Ulm
© Stiftung Hochschule für Gestaltung HfG Ulm / Foto: Martin Rudau